Guest Reviews

Quite the best UK holiday cottage we have ever rented”

We've just had a lovely review on Luxury Travel Diary - click here to read it.

We're sure that you'll find everything as expected at the Gatehouse Lodge, but it's always good to hear what other Guests have thought.

"Thoroughly enjoyed the Lodge - peace, quiet and lovely gardens after the public leave. Everything we needed. Welcome pack - sloe gin was magnificent!!" Catrin and Michael, September 2017

"Everything has been said about this wonderful 'bolt hole'. It's comfortable, warm and ideally located to admire and enjoy the gardens and the surrounding area. We have had a very enjoyable break. Thank you all concerned" Margaret and Geoff, September 2017

"I was lost in the sounds, scents and vibrant colors of the garden. Each morning...I met lovely neighbors who chatted me up. Sunsets from the old front steps were spectacular looking over the gardens with a glass of wine. Kudos .... for stocking up on 'goodies' for us when we arrived. The staff are here are all wonderful. Loved chatting with the ladies in the tearoom. Davina's baking is fantastic...." Ann and John, USA, August 2017

"Just wonderful! Attention to detail @The Gatehouse Lodge has been second to none and having the gardens to ourselves after closing was blissful. We'll definitely be back!" Aimee, August 2017

"Wish we could have stayed longer. A really beautiful place to stay with leafy vistas from every window. Brilliant facilities. We will certainly recommend it to others. If you are hungry at lunchtime, we recommend the Griffin Inn at Irnham where the 'doorstop' sandwiches are an experience!" Mary, August 2017

"A delightful break with nothing to do but relax and enjoy, especially the private access to the gardens. The personal welcome was particularly appreciated as it provided the opportunity to ask questions, ect. Locally  - lots of interesting things to do such as the Cholmeley Arms which provides characterful food and service. We had a lovely day at Belvoir Castle which is stunning! The interior of the Lodge is beautifully decorated with excellent attention to detail. We would definitely recommend this cosy retreat to others!" Paul and Mel, August 2017

"Came to escape the humdrum of work and the city! Superb, everything you want and need, fresh air, birds and green!! Will definitely return! Thank you!" Julie, July 2017

"What a lovely special treat, warm and very comfortable and quirky place to stay. Gardens a real treat and wonderful to enjoy in the morning and evening when all the visitors have left! All the staff so friendly and welcoming - so kind. Thank you Sir Fred and Lady Cholmeley for sharing this with us. Also thank you for the goodies - much appreciated! Plus Davina's yummy cakes!!" Christine, July 2017

" A refreshing break in this well appointed cottage with the benefit of the gardens 'out of hours'. Dined at the Cholmeley Arms, visited Burghley House, Belvoir, Grimsthorpe Castle, Rutland Water, Stamford (Waitrose too), Grantham (handy M&S food ...), Wymondham and of course Isaac Newton's manor house. Appreciated warm welcome from Sir Fred and Lady Cholmeley and thoughtful 'starter pack'. Gift shop is superb too." Rosena and Andrew, July 2017

"Everything just perfect - a lovely relaxing place to spend my birthday treat from our two daughters and son. I have enjoyed our visit very much" Nina and Alan, July 2017

"Thank you very much for the opportunity to enjoy this excellent property for my 60th Birthday weekend treat. We very much enjoyed the private use of the gardens and each evening we seemed to discover more of its tranquil and calm qualities. Overall, a memorable occasion" Isobel and Richard, June 2017

"An idyllic oasis that has been sympathetically restored with a little quirkiness, which we loved. Beautiful gardens and a relaxing time was had by all, including Duke, our 19 year old Jack Russell." Joanne and Simon, June 2017

"This is our second visit and a third is booked for next Spring. No matter how stressed you are when you arrive you leave calm and collected. Gardens never fail to please" Susan and Ted, June 2017

"Gatehouse Lodge is a beautiful property - everything provided for a luxurious and relaxing break. The gardens are very well tended and provided a lovely environment to walk around. Despite some very wet and windy weather one day we amused ourselves with Scrabble and books form the "Library" and enjoyed the delicious lemon drizzle cake made by Davina!. Thanks to everyone at Easton for making this a very special and welcoming place." David and Kim, June 2017

"The gardens are a true hidden gem, wonderfully peaceful first thing in the morning and later in the evenings in particular. So many other attractions nearby too, which we aim to come back for when we can. Many thanks." David and Sue, May 2017

"What a delightful gem of a place to stay. So comfortable; the added bonus to wander around the lovely gardens. Many thanks. We shall return. Thank you" David and Nicole, May 2017

"Stunning gardens, loved exploring - and the dog loved it even more! Great walks nearby too - will be back for a full week asap. Thank you!" Olivia and Alexandra, May 2017

"What an unforgettable week this has been! The cottage in the Gatehouse is charming and the gardens so inviting. The location in Lincolnshire has been perfect for visiting so many NT properties as well as Grimsthorpe Castle and Lincoln Cathedral and Castle. The booking process for this cottage was so easy and hospitable even before we arrived. Thank you so much for the wonderful place!" Harold and Lisa, USA, May 2017

"This is our second visit to the Lodge - this time for a week, which has been most enjoyable and relaxing. Returning after a day out to this lovely warm cottage is a delight, with the bonus of the log stove is sheer luxury. The gardens are so peaceful to walk around both morning and evening, the work that has gone into the restoration is a credit to all concerned. All the staff here are friendly and helpful, the gardeners are excellent at answering your questions. The Tulips give lovely areas of colour as to the many cowslips on the terraces. Thank you for the enjoyable welcome pack. We hope to return." Gill and Keith, May 2017

"Having received a very warm and friendly welcome from Sir Fred, we were left to explore both the cute and cosy lodge and the pretty gardens. The environment has provided for a relaxed and peaceful weekend and the location is fantastic for exploring the region. We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will recommend to friends and family" Kate and Mike, April 2017

"Fantastic, luxury, extremely relaxing, gardens beautiful, dogs really enjoyed. Thank you for the welcome and the goodies, etc, " Sally and Neville, March 2017

"What a wonderful place to spend a few days! Snowdrops just coming out and the weather was very kind! Thank you for the amazing welcome pack and facilities! We will be back!" Jane and John, February 2017

"This outstanding appointed hideaway combined with exclusive unlimited access to the gardens is the perfect location and venue for a getaway we'll never forget. The Gatehouse Lodge is a must for anyone seeking peace, independence and a truly unique experience." Gail and Steve, New Year 2017

"We had the most amazing time. It was all the calm and peace we were looking for after our wedding. The cottage is just as the pictures and has a cozy feeling. We were lucky to have the gardens all for ourselves and our dog who had the time of his life! The frost on our last morning came to crown this beautiful place that will remain forever in our hearts. Looking forward to more!" Jules and Jason, Christmas 2016 

"Thank you very much for a fantastic stay at Gatehouse Lodge. We absolutely love the walled garden, the shop, and the stunning cottage. We will be telling all our friends about this fantastic home away from home." Fran and Tom, November 2016

"A warm and informative welcome. The 'goodies' were very much appreciated - a lovely touch. A cosy cottage for two with clever use of the smallest of spaces. We loved the luxurious bathroom. What a privilege to be able to wander the grounds on a beautiful autumn day without other visitors. Thank you! Great visit, love Lincolnshire" David and Josie, October 2016

"Thank you for making us feel so welcome at the lodge. It is so beautiful and cosy, it was hard for us to leave. The scones at the tea room were the best we've tasted. It was a treat walking around the gardens all by ourselves. We even enjoyed a beautiful night outside under the stars. A memorable stay and we hope to return soon." Mohamad and Fatima, October 2016

"A wonderful stay made even the more wonderful thanks to the underfloor heating system. The gardens were magical. Shall be returning soon. Thank you" Renata and Alexander, October 2016

"The Lodge is warm, comfortable and peaceful, with the added bonus of the beautiful gardens (and tearoom). We have enjoyed them all. Thank you too for the 'treats' which were much appreciated. We have had a wonderful short break here." Maureen and Andrew, October 2016

"We came for our 16th Wedding Anniversary. The garden was lovely on a cool October morning and our day trip to Stamford was enjoyed very much. Our meal in the Cholmeley Arms on Friday night 'super' and we made use of the shop there for milk and jam! Everyone, everywhere was uber dog friendly which also enhanced our stay." Sarah and Des, October 2016

"We have watched the development of this garden since 2003. It never fails to please and having had the opportunity to stay in the Lodge we can say that this has been the best short break we have had. Can't wait to come back next June." Susan and Ted, September 2016 

"This has been a lovely 2 day break to celebrate birthdays, from our children. First time we've been to the gardens but it won't be the last. The Lodge is fantastic, with excellent facilities. Hope to stay here again at some point" Lin and Trevor, September 2016

"A perfect oasis on our doorstep! A treat for us booked for us by our loving daughter. Having visited the gardens at Easton a while ago, we were looking forward to returning. We were not disappointed. Gatehouse Lodge has been beautifully and thoughtfully restored and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends as a comfortable cottage for two in the most beautiful surroundings." Valerie and Terry, September 2016

"A great break - restful time. Walking in the garden early morning/late evening is a treat. The bird hide kept us occupied and I was able to take photographs (keep your eyes peeled for the thief who steals the seeds?). Produce from the garden was much appreciated which enhanced our meals. Travelled to a couple of gardens in the area which looked good in the sunshine. Gatehouse Lodge is a wonderful place to stay - well appointed. Will return another time and explore the area more" Les and Caroline, September 2016

"An absolutely perfect bolthole for our long weekend break. We loved the cottage and being able to enjoy the garden 'after hours' was a real joy. We had a nice walk (with dog) at Belvoir and the Berry Farm Shop at the Cholmeley Arms is very well stocked with nice treats!" Rowan and Peta, August 2016

"A perfect place to stay, we really appreciated the attention to detail here, Gatehouse Lodge is quite the best UK holiday cottage we have ever rented. A great base for exploring Burghley and Belvoir houses and gardens - and then we came back to the lovely  gardens at Easton! I recommend the Olive Branch at Clipsham for good food - but booking is essential" David and Caroline, August 2016

"We had an amazing stay here. The Cottage was beautiful, luxurious, with everything we needed. Great welcome from staff, and personal touches of bread, milk, etc were unexpected and very much appreciated. Loved having our own outside area, and really enjoyed the gardens 'after hours' - felt like our own private gardens! - very special. Absolutely perfect for us - the best place we've stayed. Thank you for a perfect week" Stephen and Sara, August 2016

"A beautiful cottage, beautiful gardens! Very hospitable and welcoming. Delightful" Rachel and Richard, July 2016

"After a very warm welcome we soon settled into the tastefully furnished cottage. Home from home. All the staff here are extremely helpful, especially Steve in the garden. The gardens are a great achievement and so peaceful to walk around. We have thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing stay and would hope to come back again next year. Thank you very much and for the welcome pack - very much appreciated." July 2016

"Having visited Easton Walled Gardens on a number of occasions our expectations of the Gatehouse Lodge were high - and we were not disappointed. Exceptional attention to detail - and we would certainly recommend to friends." Linda and Barry, July 2016

"Had a fantastic week. Had a warm welcome and gardens are beautiful. Accommodation is exceptional with the attention to detail to make us comfortable. Will recommend to our friends and hopefully return in the future" Sue and David, June 2016

"A warm, friendly, informative welcome. A lot of thought has gone into this small but unique lodge to give their visitors as much comfort as possible! Clean, organised, plenty of lighting, little lamps scattered everywhere. No bad odours, crisp bedding, well thought out kitchen, stunning bathroom, plenty of reading literature and helpful information folder. Spectacular location." Cherie, June 2016

"Your home is so warm, welcoming and delightful. I felt so pampered. Thank you. I enjoyed all the 'nooks and crannies'  especially the Library" June 2016

"We had a really lovely time. Fantastic gardens. We were quite shocked how lovely the Gatehouse was inside" Stephanie and Jeffrey, June 2016

"Beautiful setting and superb accommodation and above all tranquil and relaxing - will come again!" Paul and Diane, May 2016

"A little gem. Perfect, tranquil getaway for two. Beautifully restored with all mod cons. The use of the gardens just adds to the feeling of calmness. Thanks for a great welcome. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay - As did Penny [the dog]" John and Doreen, May 2016

"The Gatehouse Lodge at Easton Walled Gardens is a unique and delightfully welcoming holiday cottage. The balance of luxurious yet comfortable is perfect, and ensured we felt at home yet pampered from the moment we arrived. I won't spoil the pleasure of finding out what yummy treats await your arrival, suffice to say they are locally made or produced and absolutely delicious. The simple things that matter have been given thought... such as a huge and very comfortable bed (twin or super king), and the lovely big and beautiful bathroom with underfloor heating to keep you toasty.

The walled gardens are literally a step outside the back door and can be seen from the cosy sitting room and enjoyed during or after opening hours. The gardens are rather special, the history of the house fascinating and the cafe is not to be missed!

Everyone we met made us feel welcome and stopped for a natter and to share a tip about a lovely spot in the garden or to suggest a place to visit. We didn't actually travel very far, we just relaxed and fell in love with our surroundings. Check out the garden website for courses, we attended a one day willow weaving workshop and were really chuffed with the lovely cloches we made for our garden.

As you can guess, we adored our week here and highly recommend it."  Cliff and Liz, April 2016